top of page
Writer's pictureMeghan Macioce

2022 New Year's Resolutions

I love the beginning of a new year. It's a time where I can reflect on the past year and analyze what I accomplished and what I didn't get to. Ever since my freshmen year of college (2016), on December 31st, I list out my new goals for the following year and hang them on my wall. I'm a visual learner so seeing my goals by my door allows me to remember what I want to do this year. Some of them are the same others, workout more, maintain my weight, etc. but others are special only to me. This year I listed a new record of 20, yes 20, goals of things I want to accomplish in 2022.



Meghan's 2022 New year's Goals:

  1. Get hired full-time after graduation. I graduate April 2022 with my MBA and my M.A. so naturally I'd like to find a job that allows me to put my degrees to good use! My ultimate goal this year to land at a great company full-time. Currently, I'm a student-worker at Viatris and if everything continues to go well, I should be starting full-time in May!

  2. Finish writing Losing Our Way. If you have read any of my previous posts, you'll see I started writing a book around this time last year. The first book, Finding Our Way, was my first ever completed and online published novel. It's at almost 400,000 reads on Wattpad so I decided to make a second book to continue Lexi and Mason's story post-college.

  3. Finish writing Ecstasy. I started yet another book on Wattpad but this is an office romance. Think along the lines of Fifty Shades of Grey but not as detailed. So far, I've only posted three chapters, but it already has a small following of over 400 reads!

  4. Eat healthier. I know everyone and their mother has this same goal, but I tried incorporating salads as a side for most of my dinners last year and now all I ever want is salad! One thing I began to cut out late last year was diary and wow did I see an improvement on bloating! My main goal for eating healthier this year is cut back on the unnecessary dairy (yes, I'm talking to the shredded cheese I used to put in salads!)

  5. Establish a side hustle. With school ending in April, I know I'll be floundering a little bit on what to do so I need to find a side hustle to keep me busy. Making wedding invites, creating wreaths, blogging, being a virtual assistant? Who knows, I'll keep you posted!

  6. Workout 4 times a week. Over the Christmas break I would work out as much or as little as I wanted. Some weeks I would work out six times and others maybe twice. I want to get into a better schedule especially with winter and school starting, so four seemed reasonable.

  7. Self-publish Finding Our Way on Amazon. This is a big one for me. I have had a few literary agents reach out, but I don't know if that's the avenue I want to take. I don't necessarily like the idea of somebody else owning my work. So, we'll see how self-publishing goes!

  8. Become an Author on Goodreads. A few of my close author friends have suggested this site for more visibility on my works so why not. Let's give it a shot!

  9. Earn a 4.0 my last semester of graduate school. My final three classes are online, and all have to do with marketing or communications. If I get a 4.0 this semester, it'll bring my average up to a 3.95!

  10. Take 6 social media cleanses. This is so important to me. I took four last year and it was the best decision for me in many ways. It gave me more of my time back instead of mindlessly scrolling AND it was better for my mental health. Bonus - I love that you can turn off the likes on posts now!

  11. Post 6 blogs. I really enjoy writing and blogging, so I've already laid out a few ideas for this year. There are already more than six blogs planned.... now to see if they get written......

  12. Update personal website. I haven't updated this website with former freelance/internship positions in over a year. It needs a new look for this year so be on the lookout for new content under my social media page.

  13. Fix gap between teeth. I have always had a gap between my two front teeth that bothers me. Anyone who has seen me can tell it's not a small gap. So once I get my own dentist insurance this year, I'm fixing them ASAP!

  14. Moisturize more. I'm so bad at moisturizing daily in the winter when my body needs it the most. Living up north takes a toll on your skin so I know I need to lotion up after every shower. Time to stop laying around in my fluffy robe and do it!

  15. Pay back federal student loans. I'm very lucky that I graduated college an entire year early and saved myself another $20,000 in student loan debt. I got even luckier with getting a graduate assistant position where the University pays for my master's degree. So come December, I owe less than $15,000 and then I'm officially student debt free :)

  16. Invest in a mutual fund. I'll be honest I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to investing. Thankfully, my wonderful financial savvy boyfriend does. It's important to understand and be in charge of growing your money so why not start today!

  17. Obtain 12 new certifications in communications. I've been doing this for the last few years, but I really fell off of this wagon in 2021. Hoping to work my way into getting a new certificate every month starting with Hubspot.

  18. Be kinder. Let's be honest - we could all use to be kinder to one and other.

  19. Listen more, speak less. I have a bad habit of talking over people and not always listening. I started improving on this in 2021 and I want to continue this into 2022.

  20. Don't sweat the small stuff. I'm the world's biggest planner. I plan out things weeks - even months - in advance. I need to learn to stop stressing about things that won't matter. Chances are I'm the only one it concerns anyway!

So those are my goals for this year! What are some of yours? Let me know in the comments below.

Comments


bottom of page